Katz Award Recipients Announced

The winners of the prestigious Katz Award for 2014 were announced at a ceremony in Jerusalem on May 27. The Katz Award was established in 1975 by Marcos and Adina Katz and is bestowed upon individuals and enter- prises engaged in the application of — Jewish law in moder life — in the creation of written work and practical endeavors.

This year’s recicpients include Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks, the former chief rabbi of the United Hebrew Congregations of the Commonwealth and a professor of Judaic thought at New York University and Yeshiva University; Rabbi Zvi (Herschel) Schachter, the Yeshiva University Rosh Yeshiva and the Nathan and Vivian Fink Distinguished Professorial Chair in Talmud at the Rabbi Isaac Elchanan Rabbincal Theological Seminary; Rabbi Zalman Nehemiah Goldberg, the Rosh Yeshiva of both the Hasidic Yeshiva of Sadigura and the Jerusalem College of Technology; and the late Rabbi Yehoshua Yeshaya Neuwirth z”l, a rabbinic scholar who authored “Shemirat Shabbat Kehilchatah,” the authoritative work on the laws of Shabbat and Yom Tov.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *